Rhode Island Pre-licensing EducationPre-Licensure Education Requirements
New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, 9 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives) + 3 hours of RI law. Rhode Island has a requirement for 3 hours of instruction on state-specific law which may be satisfied by either taking a RI comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.

Number of hours is 3/3/2/9/+ 3hrs of RI law = 20

PE Expiration: Pending Enactment See the RI Requirements Checklist for details.

Cite: https://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/courseprovider/Course%20Provider%20Resources/State%20Specific%20Education%20Requirements.pdf